What’s Distracting You?

I don’t own a TV.
I had a bit of a TV addiction, you see.
But I’m in recovery now.  I belong to TVA (TV Anonymous).

For more years than I care to admit, I would park my arse in front of the tube for hours every evening. Sometimes I would grab a book to read, but I watched more than I read.  Granted, some of the hours were educational, entertaining, and relaxing.  (We all need some down time.)  But, honestly, most of the hours were wasted.

Yeah, no TV.

It was a Major Distraction.

And it had to go.

If I need to see what’s going on in the world, I can check the Internet or watch a game at a friend’s house.

Now that I am TV-less, there are sooo many positive alternatives.  I read more. Research more.  I check tasks off my to-do list.  I make that call to a friend I haven’t connected with in a while.  I get stuff done!  Incredible!

As Dirty Harry put it, a man needs to know his limitations.  A man needs to know what forces are at work to distract him from doing what he needs to do and becoming who he needs to become.

What’s preventing YOU from doing what you should be doing?   Internet?  Phone?  Texting?  Shopping?  TV?

A good friend of mine says that everyone’s got an issue, a distraction, an addiction.  If it’s not alcohol or drugs, it’s TV, prescription drugs, Facebook, shopping, texting—something!

If your “thing” is interfering with the achievement of your goals, maybe you should consider removing it?

Just a thought…

 

About Joe McDowell

Joe McDowell is a Life Coach who challenges his clients to stop settling for less than their best, to start using their gifts, and begin living the life of their dreams. If you're dissatisfied with any aspect of your life, read this blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

