Embrace the Uncertainty

“Be your own hero, it’s cheaper than a movie ticket.” — Douglas Horton

I’m in one of those uncertain stages of my life. 

I’m trying to reconstruct some areas that need attention.

But it’s not progressing as quickly as I would like.

I have a lot of new ventures up in the air. And I have a lot of uncertainty about how things will turn out…

But I have two choices…

I could drive myself crazy thinking about all the things that could go wrong.  Or…I could think of all the possibilities, all the reasons why things could turn out well.

Tony Robbins says, “The only thing keeping you from what you want is your story about why you can’t have it.”

Why not develop a story about how you CAN get what you want?

For 25 years I worked in the corporate world. I worked hard and I was promoted.  I managed people and projects and budgets.  I provided value to the companies I worked for, and I got paid well, got nice bonuses, enjoyed company-paid meals, traveled to major cities, and stayed in glitzy hotels. 

But the jobs I held never really excited me.  On many occasions I felt like a robot.  My alarm clock went off every morning, and I got up and did my 14-hour regimen.  I’d participate in meetings I had very little interest in.  I would feign enthusiasm, but I was bored out of my skull!  And it became harder and harder to fake it.

Now I have excitement in my life.

Do I know if all those balls I have in the air are going to land where I want them?  No. 

Would I like a bit more certainty in my life?  Absolutely.  But I still wouldn’t trade what I have now for a comfortable seat in that boring meeting.

Every day is an adventure.  Joe’s Excellent Adventure! 

I’m the hero of my own story. 

I’m writing the script as I go…

It is scary—but it’s exhilarating too!

Why not step out of your comfort zone and try something new?

View your life like (fill in your name here)  ______’s Excellent Adventure!

Be the hero of your own story.

 

About Joe McDowell

Joe McDowell is a Life Coach who challenges his clients to stop settling for less than their best, to start using their gifts, and begin living the life of their dreams. If you're dissatisfied with any aspect of your life, read this blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

